Postal Letter

Another fake?

i sold my ps2 on craiglist and usps sent me a mail saying they want a tracking number and they sent me this Subject - ***United States Postal Service**Urgent Message*** Dear Rocky , Good day to you. We want you to know that, we are still expecting the shipping tracking number from you for urgent verification so that your money will get to you as soon as possible. Without the shipping number not being sent to us for proper verification after the package has been shipped out, your money will not be delivered to your residential address by our errand delivery agent. So we want you to contact your buyer Mrs. Cristina Rich to arrange for the shipping document in order you to get the package shipped and get back to us with the shipping tracking number for verification. Lastly, we need you to send your phone number to us in order for us to get in touch with you when our errand delivery agent delivers your money to your residential address there email is U.S._Postal_Service @usps.com what do i do? This United States Postal ServiceĀ® payment has been deducted from the buyer's account and has been "APPROVED" but will not get to your Residential Contact Address until the shipment reference/tracking number has been sent to us for proper shipment verification so as to secure both the buyer and seller. Below are the necessary information requested before Payment can get to your Residential Contact Address in 1-2 Business days. Send shipment tracking number to us or email us through this mail : dispatchinglink.u-s-p-s@post.com and our customer service care will attend to you. As soon as you send us the shipment's tracking number to us for security purposes and the safety of the buyer and the seller,the money can get to your Residential Contact Address.

Public Comments

  1. sounds fake to me.....i don't think any web site or email address associated with usps would end in .com. And I'm pretty sure they would never ask for your phone number.
  2. Have you sent this out without getting any money???? Take this information to the Post Office and ask for the Postmaster and show it to him or her. Do it tomorrow..........
  3. I would say never send any thing thru the Post Office...they don't know what they are doing..
  4. Don't ship things on CL its just not set up for that sort of thing, there are no guarantees. I do everything local.
  5. That's a trip. I would call em off of the web site, or print the thing off and take it to the post office and have one of their guys tell you if it's legit. I've not heard of that process before. Be afraid... be very afraid... LOL.
  6. sounds fake, they wouldnt say it U.S._pOSTAL_SERVICE@USPS.com the united states postal service have their own email system, if in doubt, just take it to a local postoffice and ask someone there.
  7. Dude it sounds like a fake to me. DO NOT send it till you can call the USPS to confirm the message. Anyone can fake an email with the use of a proxy server. You need to look at the header of the email to see where exactly it came from. I'll lay odds it wasn't the USPS.
  8. I would send the buyer an email and tell her when you receive your payment you will email her the tracking number but you are not going to ship it until you receive the money. I would also contact your local postmaster general and show them a copy of the emails you are getting.
  9. if you have further more questions or not believe them, go show this letter to the post office and ask them if the post office would ask for phone nrs over the net and if they have a .com address on the net so Far as i know the post office all ways has a . gov on the end of there e mails not a . com or .net go sake the post office what to do :if you mailed this ps2 to graigslist you must have a tracking number or receipt with that NR on it, take it with you to the post office and sake them what to do next, good luck
  10. yes FAKE!!! If you sell stuff online.. Accept Cash or paypal only. (Don't ship item until money is in the paypal account - Log in to be sure) usps.com DOESN'T not send emails like this....
  11. No way this came from usps - and actually, it doesn't even say that it did, just kind of implies it. But until you have the money in hand - and not just a check or money order that you think will clear - if you send your item you will just be scammed. This whole thing has a very bad smell about it. There are so many red flags in that email they're hard to count!
Powered by Yahoo! Answers